Becoming the Word

As of recently, I feel a shift coming to the focus of my posts. I have messages about growing in Christ- likeness burning on the inside and am excited about getting them out. My goal is to try to shift our paradigm from one of the “visitation” mentality of the Old Covenant to the “habitation” mentality that our relationship with God in the New Covenant provides us.

One area in which we can slide into the old “God visits and speaks to us once in a while” type of relationship is how we view the prophetic gifts and hearing God’s voice.

I am thankful that my upbringing in the church exposed me to the gift of prophesy and an atmosphere where people sought to hear God speak to them. That being said, I have seen some unhealthy beliefs and actions within what is commonly called the Prophetic Movement.

I believe much of the unhealthiness stems from simply not knowing what covenant we are under. But that in itself is a symptom of not accurately knowing God, the Maker of the covenant.

In the Old Covenant, the Spirit of God came upon people and the Word of the Lord came to people. Under the New, we know that the Spirit of God is in us, but did you know that God also speaks in us?

God, after He spoke long ago to the fathers in the prophets in many portions and in many ways, in these last days has spoken to us in His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the world. (Heb. 1:1-2)

Do you see the difference? God spoke TO the saints of the Old Testament in different ways and portions. They got samples, but we have the feast! God now speaks IN His Son who lives in us. Therefore, God speaks in us. We have been placed right in the middle of the communication between the Father and Son. Jesus said, “In that day (after His resurrection) you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you. (John 14:20)”

Throughout the Old Testament, we read, “And the word of the Lord came to so and so”. This is because God was on the outside speaking to them. Now God is in us and He has not stopped speaking. I am not saying we cannot hear the audible voice of God, but why limit yourself to an outwardly radical encounter. We who are in Christ have become the encounter!

We are even told that the saints of old saw glimpses of the salvation that would come and bring us into an indwelling relationship with God and wanted to know about it.

As to this salvation, the prophets who prophesied of the grace that would come to you made careful searches and inquiries, seeking to know what person or time the Spirit of Christ within them was indicating as He predicted the sufferings of Christ and the glories to follow.  It was revealed to them that they were not serving themselves, but you, in these things which now have been announced to you through those who preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven—things into which angels long to look (1 Peter 1:10-12)

They saw what they could not have. But often, we have what we do not even see. So often I have heard believers talk about becoming like some of the Old Testament heroes. But we, not because of our own merit, have something greater (see Matt 11:11).

God is wanting to form and develop His very nature in us, not just give us glimpses into His world once in a while. We ARE His work and as a result, get to do good works (Eph. 2:10).

Prophesy in the New Covenant

All that being said, hearing from God takes on a whole new perspective as born again sons and daughters. In the OT, the people of God needed to rely on an outward voice of God to them. This is why there was such a severity for prophets that would lead people astray or misrepresent the word of God to them.

In the NT, however, we are all to hear God speak to us from within. This is why you see stuff like this:

Let two or three prophets speak, and let the others weigh what is said. If a revelation is made to another sitting there, let the first be silent.  For you can all prophesy one by one… (1 Cor. 14:29-31)

Its not just the one Moses or Ezekiel who has the word, for the Word is in us now. But throughout the years, I have seen many people flock to someone who is moving in hearing from God and the prophetic in hopes of getting a word of direction. I have definitely done that too; mostly before I started understanding true righteousness and grace.

I would put so much stock in words and revelations, but often in a way that did not acknowledge my identity as a son. I would think I needed to hear what I should do for just about everything. I thought the light was red until I heard God say green. But Christ in me gives me an automatic green light. Of course I need to grow and mature in my relationship with Him, but the switch is not off until God turns it on. He has placed Himself in me and wants me to abide, not visit.

As the prophet Isaiah said, “Arise and shine FOR your light HAS come (Isaiah 60:1).” Guys, who is our Light? Has He come? Its not going to get “better” for us in terms of our provision in Christ, only bigger to us as we grow in the intimate knowledge of Him. There is not a magical key or a revival that will place you higher in your position in Christ.

Now, it is great when you get a rich timely word, but we need to progress in our relationship with God to where we realize He wants us to be the Word. He wants us to have His mind and His heart. If we are like Him, then what we do will be His will, right?

So rather than having to wait for an external word to come to us, I think that God’s intent for His people to manifest Him 24/7. We get to be people so caught up in our love relationship, that when people ask if something is God or us, we can dare answer, “yes”.

The error I fell into was that I thought I needed to be out of the equation when it came to hearing and following God’s voice. I simply needed to hear something and do it. Although God will speak to you about something He wants for you to do, please know that it will be consistent with you growing in the nature of Christ and in passion for God. He does not NEED servants, He WANTS you.

 What Do You Want?

So then, what is it that you want? Often, we think that we should follow God in a robotic, detached way. “Well, this is what God says so I am just going to do it. I don’t know why nor do I have a desire to, but that is unimportant. God says do it so I will.” Among many Christians, this is esteemed as a noble attitude. But God wants to involve US in our lives in Him. He wants us to be passionate about His will, rather than just being clueless and emotionless servants.

Once, I was faced with a very difficult decision and was driving myself nuts trying to know “what God wanted me to do”. In the midst of my inner turmoil, I heard Him gently say, “What is it you want to do?” I had not even thought of that! I had religious pressure that caused me to think that was bad. I am to give up my will right? Well, in terms of trying to save yourself as opposed to receiving Christ as Savior and Lord, that is a great idea. But I was a new creation birthed by God and therefore, God was interested in what I, His child, wanted to do in this situation. Immediately, I knew what that was. I was thrilled that I could choose.

Now in hindsight (which tends to be 20/20), I realize the decision I made was inline with the character of Christ. It gave me great confidence knowing that Christ was within me, changing my nature, which led to the right choice. But there I was hoping for a booming voice to thunder in my room and tell me what to do. But there God was within, forming me into the expression of His will.

He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature (Heb 1:3)

God’s will for us and word to us is Jesus, who is in us. This will and word will then exude from us. Jesus is the Word made flesh and He now seeks to make our flesh the word. Be encouraged that God is intent on making you like Him. You do not have to strive to hear His voice on the outside and then try your best to do exactly what the subjective revelation was all about. God has you where He wants you if you are in Him. From that place, you are becoming like Him who is the Word; the communication of God’s heart to His creation.

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children; and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma (Eph. 5:2).

About John Long

John Long is dead. Nevertheless, he lives. Yet, it is not the old independent him who lives, but Christ lives in Him. The life that He lives now in the body is one of total dependence in the faithfulness of Jesus Christ, who loved him and exchanged His life for John's - John's personalized version of Galatians 2:20 and life mission statement. What a new cool existence this is. I am learning about living as the true "walking dead" in this Earth. Dead to sin, the world, and most importantly, the self-existent me. Won't you join me in learning about this Jesus who exchanged His life for ours? I'm not claiming to have all the answers, but I know that the Answer has me and I am excited about knowing Him more each day. If none of this is making sense to you or if you would like more details, please see this link: http://siggit81.wordpress.com/how-to-know-jesus/
This entry was posted in Experiencing the Presence of God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Becoming the Word

  1. Pingback: Should we only do what God says? | SOARING IN GRACE / GROUNDED IN TRUTH

Leave a comment